Express Yourself (Hey, Madonna’s Words-Not Mine)

30 Mar

We all have different cardio preferences when it comes to the gym. Some of us of are elliptical junkies. (Um, hello—have you met my oscillopsia?) A few of us still fancy the Stairmaster. And then there’s the stationary bike crew. (Although, where are you guys—it seems that row is ALWAYS empty and “miraculously” broken.) And while I am not planning our honeymoon anytime soon, I definitely have to say that the treadmill is the one for me.

Especially when I discovered New York Sports Club heaven. AKA long distance treadmills. If you have never run on one before—I highly suggest it. You notice the difference (in comparison to their “normal” counterparts) just by the site of them, as their running platforms are made to simulate wooden panels (almost like trail running) and the front end is completely open. This allows you to get a full, open stride sans the shin splits or locked knees! They have always been taken in the past (thank you, gym owls) so I haven’t bothered to wait but their recently discovered glory is worth the awkward seriously-are-you-done-yet glares. Every time I hop on, I really hone in on my form and always go just a bit longer. (Also, just a human observation. Others don’t run like they have barbells attached to their ankles when they use them. Just a friendly, semi-nudging tip from one gym-goer to another.)

Today, while I was working out I was alternating between a re-run of Glee and the newest episode of The Biggest Loser. You all know how much I love me some Ali Sweeney! But today it was Jillian that really got to me. In the midst of working out with her team, someone started talking about how getting “back on track” with their weight and their body made them love everything again. Jillian then asked what they wanted with their life. They said, “to love it all.” And Jillian simply said,

See what you did there? You expressed your needs and the world didn’t friggin’ stop.”

And it got me thinking. About life and about needs. About hearing mine and those of everyone around me. And about tuning into them more often. Perhaps we’d all get a little bit more out of our days if we told each other what we needed. (But also gave in return–effortlessly, humbly, and harmonically.) Just a thought for this Tuesday evening.

One Response to “Express Yourself (Hey, Madonna’s Words-Not Mine)”

  1. Steph March 30, 2011 at 5:49 am #

    Agreed! The idea is so simple: express your needs. The execution, not so much. Sometimes it’s hard to access that awareness of self, let alone figure out what other people want. I’m loving your blog – keep it up!

Leave a Reply

