Oh Hey March, Didn’t See You There

5 Mar

So apparently it’s March – who knew? Or at least that is what my calendar, my blackberry, my pay stub, and the world is telling me. (Oh, did I leave out basketball? My bad.) To that I say…bienvenido marzo! Training-wise, I can already tell that it is going to be a tres excellent month. I triple-pinkie swore myself (yeah, imagine what that would look like) that I would make a STEADY workout schedule and stick to it. If you know the eccentric inner-workings of my personality at all, you know that I like “life goals”—big and small. Kat, today you WILL go grocery shopping. If I put it on a post-it note, fuhgeddaboutit—there’s no way I can break it! Post-its = divinity of some sort in this household. Therefore, I have officially vowed to fit some form of exercise into my too-busy-to-breathe-at-times schedule FOUR times a week. (Ideally aiming for Saturday/Sunday/Tuesday/Thursday in case you were itching to know.) And success! Not only did I reach my goal this week; but I am feeling healthier, happier, and a little bit too acquainted with the gym’s TV channels. (I watch while running, so sue me!)

March means FLOWERS!

Last weekend, Adriana and I used the second of our cycling passes at Cycle Bar. This time, we had the session’s regular instructor, Emma. Uhm. I will gladly spin to Swedish pop and Madonna remixes any day if Emma tells me to. I bow down to her wheeled ways! Compared to the class last week (which I still loved and sweated my behind off in, no worries), I was so happy to see more variation in the workout. (Apparently you can do jumps on a stationary Schwinn, who knew?) I often worry that when I get to the bigger mileage in my training, without a running partner, I am going to legitimately keel over from BOREDOM. A kickass mix featuring back-to-back mixes of whip-my-hair (why yes, don’t mind if I do) Willow will only get me so far. Nevertheless, I can’t wait to use the rest of the Living Social deal tomorrow evening! Probably the best $20 I have spent in quite a while.

Also, in running news this week, I have decided to sign up for a race. Screw the marathon! Just kidding—isn’t that why we are all gathered here today? (Wow, that sounded sermon-esque.) But I do feel like I need something to work towards with a faster expiration date. So, in perfect harmony with receiving my New York Road Runner’s membership card in the mail – I settled on a 4-mile jaunt in Central Park on April 23rd. Cannot wait!

So, as I sit here with my Brooklyn Bread bagel (of the chocolate variety), I officially dedicate all further Prospect Park runs (like the one today!) to the beautiful and inspiring month of March. Let’s get down to business, eh?

One Response to “Oh Hey March, Didn’t See You There”

  1. Auntie March 24, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

    You go girl! Finish that race! Keep up the good work.
    xoxoxoxo
    Auntie and Unk

Leave a Reply

