Where the Warmer Half Runs

17 Feb

Evening, loves! Wonderful to see you all again. (Smiles awkwardly at reflection in laptop screen.) So it turns out that when you are a writer in the three-dimensional world known as LIFE…the fun, personal writing for the two-dimensional world (like this blog) falls to the waste side. Hence, my absence! Luckily, the same has not been true of my running vida. Yes, you can breathe a big sigh of relief. I am sure you have been losing nights of sleep over it. There, there.

What you have missed: this Midwesterner has had it up to her faux-New York britches with the winter. Black snow is not sexy on anyone. Apparently, this is one of the worst we have ever had (and I can use the past few years to say OH YEAH to that). So guess what? I hauled it over to New York Sports Club and got myself a membership. That’s right! The oo-la-land of treadmills, white towels, complicated weight machines, and profusely sweating individuals—some might call this ecstasy. (You might call it hell.)

The New York gym culture is fascinating to me. (My parents met in a gym, for those of you that don’t know, so there is pre-meditated sentimentality attached here…I admit!) I have so many questions! Does one work out before the morning commute and then trek it home to shower? Or do I haul my gym bag to work and slip off the train and into the locker room? I realize that this is not macroeconomics (just go with me here), but these are the things I think about! Seasoned gym goers, please weigh in.

I also got my hands on a three-trip pass to a cycling studio here in Brooklyn. So here’s to giving the stationary bike universe another spin! (Like what I did there?) Last year, I tried Soul Cycle (the ultimate temple of the wheel world) and I swear I couldn’t feel my crotch for days. TMI? Sorry.

On that note, here’s to running in place and escaping the cold. Cheers!

One Response to “Where the Warmer Half Runs”

  1. Kayl February 17, 2011 at 3:40 am #

    Yay keep it up! Reading this is great motivation. Also, I had no idea your parent met at a gym! I can’t say that’s a huge shock though. Good luck love! May your motivation remain high and continue to inspire mine:) xx

Leave a Reply

