I’d Like that Run on Ice, Please

23 Jan

Running pump-up song of the day: “Hard Times” (Featuring Black Thought) by John Legend & The Roots

It is always a brilliant sign when you go to check the Weather Channel (okay, so it was www.weatherchannel.com – sue me!) and the report reads: “New York – High: 20°F (but feels like 7°.) Now if that doesn’t make a girl want to slap on a pair of Gortex pants and get goin’—I don’t know what would! (JUST kidding.) But against my better judgment, I suited up and braved the Arctic Chill. [Side note: What do all you other intense runners wear on days like today?]

Though it wasn’t exactly a magnificent work-out, not quite sure why I psych myself out like that. I’ve done much tougher things in my life. Swallowed live minnows (don’t ask—that was a low moment in my youth), fell off a raft during a category 3 white water wave (there are excellent pictures to document that), and ate pigeon stew very much against my will (note: this pigeon met its fate AGAINST my homestay’s kitchen shutter. Oh yes.) So what’s a little 13 MPH wind on your face? Eh?

In other news! Look at what came in the mail this week. My bright orange (won’t this look EXCELLENT with my hot pink Nike shorts) ING Marathon 2011 Training shirt! Thanks NY Road Runners for making my week. I am definitely putting this in the back of my closet until the warmer weather and until I feel like I am truly in training mode. (I’m not even cataloguing my miles yet! Shh, no one tell my father. Even though he is probably going to see this and call me to chat about that.) But knowing it is there is an extraordinary motivator on days like today. Can’t wait until the day when I get to wear it and FULLY rock it!

2 Responses to “I’d Like that Run on Ice, Please”

  1. Steph January 23, 2011 at 7:59 pm #

    Hahaha that poor pigeon! I’m loving your adventure so far, and no matter what you say, I think hot pink and neon orange will look CALIENTE together! Keep up the good work!

  2. Mary Kerwin January 24, 2011 at 2:39 pm #

    Hey Kat, put your big girl pants on and get running!
    I just did a “Big Foot” 5K in Traverse City…it was in
    shoe shoes! 4 degree air temp…but the pain was eclipsed by the cold for me, which was nice. Looking forward to following your journey!

Leave a Reply

